What does NGA stand for?

NGA (= next-generation-access) networks consist complete or partly of optical elements and are capable of delivering broadband access services with enhanced characteristics (such as higher throughput) as compared to those provided over already existing copper networks. NGA services can offer transfer rates of over 30 Mbps and therefore meet the broadband coverage target.

NGA networks can be deployed by using a number of different technologies and network architectures which will determine the maximum data speed which they will obtain. NGA network architectures currently being deployed include:

  • Fibre to the cabinet (FTTC) using Digital Subscriber Loop (DSL) technologies on copper end user connections or wireless broadband technologies

  • Fibre to the home/premises (FTTP) using point to point fibre

  • Fibre to the home/premises using passive optic networks (PON)

Contact us



FH JOANNEUM University of Applied Sciences (AT)

Contact person:
Wolfgang Schabereiter